Dr Peter Darben recognised for excellence in science

18 Aug 2011

25 Queenslanders, including UQDI's SPARQ-ed Co-ordinator, Dr Peter Darben, have been recognised as part of National Science Week by being named as winners of the 2011 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science and Science Education.

Education Minister Cameron Dick said the awards encourage more Queenslanders to pursue careers in science, engineering, technology and innovation, and reward achievements in these sectors.

The winners include students, teachers, school leaders, volunteers, scientific industries, business associations, community organisations and tertiary education and research institutions.

The 25 winners will share in $89,000 of prize money allowing them to continue their important work and science studies.

“This year, 10 senior school students will be awarded Outstanding Senior Science Student Awards, with each prize worth $2000, while seven exceptional teachers will be granted prizes of $5000 each in the Outstanding Teachers of Science Awards category." Minister Cameron Dick said.

“There are also two recipients in the Science Support Officer Awards category, three winners in the Professional Science Leadership category and three winners in the Science Education Partnership and Community Science Awards category. “

Awards will be presented at a ceremony at Customs House in Brisbane on Thursday, 6 October.

The awards honour leading Queensland scientist and Nobel laureate Peter Doherty. Professor Doherty was Australian of the Year in 1997. He and his Swiss colleague Rolf Zinkernagel were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1996 for discovering the nature of cellular immune defence.

2011 Peter Doherty Awards winner

Science Education Partnership and Community Science Awards

Dr Peter Darben, Students Performing Advanced Research Queensland Program (SPARQ-ed), The University of Queensland Diamantina Institute