Professor Ian Frazer named a Councillor for the Australian Academy of Science

14 Dec 2011

Professor Ian FrazerProfessor Ian Frazer, who is world-renowned for inventing the cervical cancer vaccine, has become one of the most recent members of the Australian Academy of Science, alongside a Nobel Laureate, a Eureka prize winner and a female pioneer in mathematics.

The Australian Academy of Science is a Fellowship of the country’s leading researchers, and works to promote and engage national and international communities with Australian science.

Professor Frazer is thrilled to be named as a Council member for the AAS.

“Election to council of the Australian Academy of Science is an honour,” Professor Frazer said.

“It’s an opportunity to help shape the direction of our peak Australian scientific society at a time when science as a discipline is more important than ever in determining how society develops - and yet more challenged than ever for status within society.”

Professor Suzanne Cory, President of the Academy, said she is delighted to have such high calibre new members join the Council and looks forward to welcoming them in May next year.

The Academy was founded in 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London and modelled on the same principle and values.

The Fellowship of the Academy is comprised of 450 of Australia’s top scientists, distinguished in the physical and biological sciences and their applications.

Professor Ian Frazer is joined by Professor Brian Schmidt; Nobel Laureate in physical sciences, Professor Nalini Joshi; a mathematics professor at The University of Sydney, CSIRO climate specialist; Professor Michael Raupach, and ecologist Professor Richard Shine also from The University of Sydney.

The new Councillors will assume their positions at the Australian Academy of Science Annual General Meeting at the Shine Dome on Thursday May 4, 2012.